#designconnects

MCBW key visual 2021
The Octoid: Our future between the opposite poles of nature and technology

How will we want to live tomorrow? When it comes to answering this question, designers in all disciplines play important roles as they propose ideas, develop processes and structures and/or shape living environments and relationships. A future worth living can be created in environments where mindset and design are attentive and sustainable. The COVID-19 pandemic has demonstrated the importance of being flexible and creative today to develop new “futures.” This is one of the reasons why Shaping futures by Design is the slogan of MCBW 2021. 

Nature and technology as opposite poles

Designed by Kochan & Partner, the MCBW 2021 key visual expands early manifestations of natural life to include artificial elements: The android octopus symbolizes encounters between evolution and the future and between nature and technology. These features deserve a great deal of attention not only because of their extreme vulnerability but also because of their essential potential for innovations and sustainable solutions – design potential that must be leveraged responsibly.

 

Deep sea geniuses

Octopodes, also referred to as cephalopods or as octopuses, may be some of the planet’s most fascinating creatures. For more than 500 million years they have been journeying through deep seas, coastal waters, and tide pools. They range from tiny bobtail squids measuring only a few millimeters to giant species of more than five meters. Octopodes have blue blood and three hearts. Their arms and legs are attached directly to their bodies, allowing them to be in perpetual motion with the gracefulness of dancers. By nature octopuses are adaptable, very fast, and strikingly intelligent. This is why they sometimes are referred to as the humans of the oceans. Octopodes express their thoughts and moods, for example, when communicating with friends or foes, by changing their skin color, and they adapt quickly to a changing environment. These sensitive, smart and rational creatures exhibit an explicit interest in the world around them: To try to understand it, they observe, react, and continue learning instinctively. These skills also are of utmost importance to us humans, particularly when it comes to creating the future.

Human skills – boon and bane

From artificial intelligence and bionics to genetic engineering, mankind has made great strides in how it confronts nature and technology. While we celebrate our continued research successes, nature continues to hold numerous secrets and surprises for us, some of which we may unlock unintentionally. Man-made phenomena such as climate change and the COVID-19 pandemic are daily reminders that each of our advancements comes with a set of responsibilities. How far can we push our society ahead without provoking unpredictable reactions from nature?

Androids, our "new" friends

We treasure our relationships with androids and robots that merge the artificial and the natural. Modern literary mention dates back to the turn of the 19th century. Both Maschinenmann (1789) by Jean Paul (born in Wunsiedel, Germany) and Mary Shelly’s Frankenstein (1818), part of which takes place in Ingolstadt, Germany, are examples of world-famous works which reference Bavaria. The early days of film also saw human-like robots, for example, Metropolis (1927) by Fritz Lang, that were both fascinating and menacing. While robots have become indispensable in many fields, so far androids mainly are employed in the care sector, for household chores, for entertainment purposes, to push food tray carts, dispense beverages, clean windows or floors, and to carry heavy loads. Androids can translate texts into sign language for people with hearing disabilities and can help autistic persons improve their communications skills. However, in some cases androids have not been able to measure up to the expectations set for them. For example, more than half of the 243 robots at a robot hotel were removed after guests complained. At the same time, medical implants may increasingly be transforming people themselves into androids.

MCBW 2021 key visual: the Octoid

MCBW 2021’s key visual typifies the many-sided responsibilities vested in people who design the future: With its head reminiscent of a robot, the octopus combines the robust appearance of technology with elements of nature’s vulnerability. The butterflies symbolize transformation processes, and the fresh green color on the android’s “ear” embodies miniature gardens that constitute their own ecosystems. The creature’s synthetic skin references current research projects that enable robots to perceive their environments in more detail and respond appropriately to changes. The composite of octopus and android that is the Octoid represents a bold vision of the future because a future worth living requires passion and flexibility, instinct and intellect, thoughtfulness and progress.

Our future – a question of design

As we continue relentlessly to globalize, digitize and accelerate our world, the need of society and of the economy for sustainable and socially responsible concepts and courses of action increases. How we want to live, learn, communicate, and work tomorrow is a matter of design. In this complex time, MCBW sets out to address this challenging and at the same time exciting confrontation with the future and take a look at tomorrow’s world through the eyes of design. MCBW’s special focus will be on the Future of Health, Future of Security, Future of Work, Future of Education, Future of Communication, and Future of Cities.

Copyright pictures: MCBW & iStock

#designconnects

Das MCBW Schlüsselbild 2021
Der Octoid: Unsere Zukunft im Spannungsfeld zwischen Natur und Technik

Wie wollen wir morgen leben? Gestalter*innen aller Disziplinen kommt beim Nachdenken über diese Frage besondere Bedeutung zu – von der Idee über die Entwicklung von Prozessen und Strukturen bis zur Gestaltung von Lebensräumen und Beziehungen. Wo sorgfältig und nachhaltig gedacht und gestaltet wird, entsteht eine lebenswerte Zukunft. Denn wie entscheidend es heute ist, flexibel und kreativ neue ‚Zukünfte‘ zu entwickeln, zeigt allein die aktuelle Corona-Krise. Auch deshalb lautet das Motto der MCBW 2021: Shaping futures by Design. 

Spannungsfeld Natur und Technik

Das von Kochan & Partner entworfene Keyvisual für die MCBW 2021 erweitert früheste Erscheinungsformen natürlichen Lebens um artifizielle Elemente: Im androiden Oktopus begegnen sich nicht nur Evolution und Zukunft, sondern auch Natur und Technik – Bezüge, die hohe Aufmerksamkeit verdienen, da sie sowohl Innovationspotenzial bieten als auch extrem verletzlich sind. In ihnen steckt entscheidendes Potenzial für Innovation und nachhaltige Lösungen. Gestaltungspotenzial, das verantwortlich einzusetzen ist.

 

Genies aus der Tiefsee

Octopoden – auch Kopffüßer oder Tintenfische genannt – gehören zu den wohl faszinierendsten Kreaturen unseres Planeten: Seit mehr als 500 Millionen Jahren tauchen sie durch Tiefsee, Küstengewässer oder Gezeitentümpel. Ihre Artenvielfalt reicht vom nur wenige Millimeter großen Zwergtintenfisch bis zum gigantischen Riesenkalmar mit über fünf Metern Länge. Octopoden haben blaues Blut, drei Herzen und tragen ihre Arme und Beine direkt am Kopf – dabei sind sie mit tänzerischer Grazie ständig in Bewegung. Das Wesen der Krake lässt sich als anpassungsfähig, blitzschnell und verblüffend intelligent beschreiben, was ihr den Beinamen »Mensch des Meeres« eingebracht hat. Ihre Gedanken und Launen zeigen Octopoden als wechselndes Farbspiel auf der Haut. So kommunizieren sie mit Freund oder Feind oder passen sich rasch der Umgebung an. Als feinfühlige, kluge und vernunftbegabte Lebewesen zeigen sie ein ausgesprochenes Interesse an ihrer Umwelt: Sie versuchen ihre Umgebung zu verstehen, beobachten, reagieren und lernen instinktiv dazu. Eigenschaften, die auch für uns Menschen von größter Bedeutung sind – ganz besonders, wenn es um Zukunftsgestaltung geht.

Human Skills: Fluch und Segen

Künstliche Intelligenz, Bionik, Gentechnik etc. – der Mensch ist in seiner Auseinandersetzung mit Natur und Technik weit fortgeschritten. Und während wir einerseits einen Forschungserfolg nach dem anderen feiern, hält die Natur andererseits zahlreiche Geheimnisse und Überraschungen für uns bereit, die wir ihr teilweise ungewollt entlocken. Menschengemachte Phänomene wie der Klimawandel oder die Corona-Pandemie sind tägliche Reminder. Erinnerungen an die Verantwortung, die in jedem Fortschritt steckt. Wie weit können wir unsere Gesellschaft voranbringen, ohne unberechenbare Naturreaktionen zu provozieren?

Unser "neuer" Freund der Android

Einen hohen Stellenwert nimmt aktuell unser Verhältnis zu Androiden und Robotern ein, in denen sich das Künstliche mit dem Natürlichen verbindet. In der Literatur tauchen schon in der Wende zum 19. Jahrhundert die ersten Berührungspunkte dazu auf, etwa bei Jean Pauls (geb. in Wunsiedel) Maschinenmann (1789) oder Mary Shellys in Ingolstadt verortetem Frankenstein (1818) um nur zwei weltbekannte Versionen mit bayerischem Bezug zu nennen. Auch in der Frühzeit des Films treten beispielsweise in Metropolis (1927) von Fritz Lang menschenähnliche Roboter auf. Sie wirken ebenso faszinierend wie bedrohlich. Während Roboter aus vielen Bereichen heute nicht mehr wegzudenken sind, werden Androide bisher vor allen Dingen in der Pflege, im Haushalt oder zur Unterhaltung eingesetzt. Sie schieben Tablettwagen, können Getränke ausgeben, putzen Fenster, wischen Böden oder tragen Lasten. Für Menschen mit Hörschädigungen liefern sie Übersetzungen in Gebärdensprache oder sie tragen zur Verbesserung der Kommunikationsfähigkeit von autistischen Menschen bei. In einigen Fällen konnten die Androiden, die in sie gestellten Erwartungen jedoch nicht erfüllen. So musterte ein sogenanntes Roboter-Hotel nach Beschwerden seiner Gäste mehr als die Hälfte der 243 Roboter aus. Gleichzeitig werden Menschen durch medizinische Implantate möglicherweise auch selbst immer mehr zum Androiden.

Das MCBW-Schlüsselbild 2021: der Octoid

Das Keyvisual der MCWB 2021 versinnbildlicht die vielfältige Verantwortung, die dem Menschen in der Gestaltung unserer Zukunft zukommt: Der Oktopus mit dem roboterartigen Kopf vereint robust wirkende Technik mit verletzlichen Naturelementen. Und während die Schmetterlinge Transformationsprozesse symbolisieren, spielt das frische Grün im „Ohr“ des Androiden auf Miniatur-Gärten an, die eigene Ökosysteme bilden. Die künstliche Haut verweist auf aktuelle Forschungsprojekte, die es Robotern erlauben, ihre Umwelt detaillierter wahrzunehmen und angemessen auf Veränderungen zu reagieren. Der aus Oktopus und Android vereinte Octoid steht für einen mutigen Blick in die Zukunft, denn für eine lebenswerte Zukunft braucht es Leidenschaft und Flexibilität, Instinkt und Intellekt, Rücksicht und Fortschritt.

Unsere Zukunft – eine Frage der Gestaltung

Während die Welt sich weiterhin unaufhaltsam globalisiert, digitalisiert und beschleunigt, wächst der gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Bedarf an nachhaltigen und sozial verträglichen Konzepten sowie Handlungsweisen. Wie wir morgen leben – wie wir lernen, kommunizieren, arbeiten? Eine Frage der Gestaltung. Die MCBW begibt sich in der aktuell schwierigen Zeit in genau diese herausfordernde und gleichzeitig spannende Auseinandersetzung mit der Zukunft und betrachtet die Welt von morgen durch die Brille des Designs. Im besonderen Fokus stehen dabei die MCBW Themenfelder Zukunft der Gesundheit, Zukunft der Sicherheit, Zukunft der Arbeit, Zukunft der Bildung, Zukunft der Kommunikation und Zukunft der Städte.

Copyright Bilder: MCBW & iStock