Universal_Design_1920x640.jpg

#designconnects

The Future of Healthcare
Design and Healthcare - Highlights of MCBW

Our need for safety is deeply connected to our wish for good health, and good health is at the base of everything that makes life worth living. Having experienced a pandemic, more than ever we long to assume responsibility for our health, beginning with our nutrition. During the lockdown we became more inclined to prepare our own meals which has prompted sales of bread makers and cookbooks and has caused the creation and use of cooking blogs to skyrocket. Fresh foods, preferably those harvested in our region, continue to gain importance. Many people not working from home are taking home-prepared meals to the office; the old lunchbox has been replaced with well-designed containers. As well, redesigned fitness trackers equipped with a host of new features are helping us achieve our personal goals.

To a large extent, the issue of healthcare in connection with design is defined largely by the concept of healing architecture. How does architecture contribute to healing and recovery? How do developed and undeveloped spaces around us contribute to keeping us healthy? Healing architecture is about the conceptualization and design of spaces used for hospitals and other buildings devoted to healthcare, about the way they are perceived, and about their effects on combating illness.

In many cases design is both the solution and the great hope. Design creates and adds value. Design develops true-to-life perspectives and drives sustainability. The six themes of MCBW 2021 will illuminate how design can help shape the future. One of these themes is The Future of Healthcare.

futurice_MCBW_new-07_1920x640.jpg

DIGITAL SOLUTIONS FOR THE HEALTHCARE SECTOR

Tomorrow’s healthcare sector will be digital and connected. E-health is the buzzword when it comes to future healthcare; however, it already has made its way into our lives in many fields. More and more patients are using telemedicine such as video consultations and are making active use of the options offered by digitization. These developments are driven by data and by digital and/or physical interfaces. During a digital panel discussion scheduled to take place during MCBW, experts from the Futurice innovation consultancy will present their Connected Health Kit, a tool that can bring interdisciplinary teams together and facilitate the development of user-centered digital solutions in modern medical applications. Following a brief introduction, the panel of healthcare experts will discuss how the Connected Health Kit can help make complex processes more intelligible.

UID_Keyvisual_01_1920x640.jpg

GAMIFICATION IN HEALTH: PLAYFUL MOTIVATION IN THE HEALTHCARE SECTOR

The climate crisis, a new post-pandemic normal, and the digital transformation are only three of the numerous challenges facing companies and society. How can design help overcome these challenges? What options exist to design the transformation? How can we contribute to making potential visions of the future experienceable now? The USER INTERFACE DESIGN lectures to be presented during MCBW will be about designing the future and making it tangible. When it comes to e-health, gamification is the buzzword. The lectures will include an online speech about playful motivation in the healthcare sector. In what way does gamification add value to e-health applications and how can gamification be put to use?

first_tuesday_1920x640.jpg

FIRST TUESDAY

Not everyone in need of or who provides care has access to the best ideas developed by companies, start-ups, or the design sector. The goal of the first tuesday initiative is to provide a platform that fosters connections among caregivers, start-ups, and designers so innovations can be anchored sustainably in institutions active in nursing and assisting the elderly. The COVID-19 crisis has shown that we need better solutions to the many problems in the care sector. A workshop hosted during MCBW will provide experts in the care and social economy sectors with the opportunity to enter into creative dialog with designers and together create impulses, products, and services in diverse formats for this complex market.

Universal_Design_1920x640.jpg

UNIVERSAL DESIGN: ATTITUDE, RESPONSIBILITY, SUSTAINABILITY

Universal design connects economic actions with social responsibility and societal empathy and has evolved into a basis for sustainable and conscious design. The Institute for Universal Design (IUD) sees universal design as a meta-discipline of design and supports the corporate sector, science, and society with the development of analog and digital products, services, and concepts. Held every year during MCBW, the Universal Design Exhibition provides the design framework for a number of formats (talk, lecture, workshop, etc.) and is considered an opportunity for universal designers across disciplines to meet and network. This year’s exhibition will be a showcase of products, digital applications, architecture, and service scenarios that afford broad-based, easy, and intuitive usability and can be operated across generations. On the occasion of the tenth anniversary of MCBW, the IUD also will organize the Exhibition in Exhibition titled 10 Years of Universal Design. What prize-winning universal design products have remained topical with virtually no changes? What concepts have become established? In what way has universal design been anchored sustainably in companies, design agencies, academies, and/or universities? The two exhibitions are scheduled to be conducted in a hybrid format.

Chat

Chat
Universal_Design_1920x640.jpg

#designconnects

Zukunft der Gesundheit
Gestaltung und Gesundheit - Highlights der MCBW

Tief verbunden mit dem menschlichen Bedürfnis nach Sicherheit ist unser Wunsch nach Gesundheit als Basis für alles, was unser Leben lebenswert macht. Mit der Pandemieerfahrung verstärkt sich das Bedürfnis, Verantwortung für die eigene Gesundheit zu übernehmen. Das beginnt schon bei der Ernährung: In Zeiten des Lockdowns wächst die neue Lust am Selberkochen – sogar Brotbackautomaten, Kochbücher und -blogs boomen. Frische Lebensmittel, gerne aus regionalem Anbau, gewinnen weiter an Bedeutung. Wer nicht im Homeoffice arbeitet, nimmt das Essen für den Tag mit, und uncoole Henkelmänner verwandeln sich in gut designte Boxen. Fitness-Tracker helfen beim Erreichen persönlicher Ziele und kommen in immer neuen Ausstattungen und Designs auf den Markt.

Und wenn wir uns mit der Frage von Gesundheit und Gestaltung beschäftigen kommt gerade der Architektur mit dem Konzept „Healing Architecture“ ein besonderer Stellenwert zu: Wie kann Architektur zur Heilung und Genesung beitragen? Und welchen Einfluss hat die gebaute und unbebaute Umgebung darauf, dass der Mensch auch gesund bleibt? „Healing Architecture“ befasst sich mit der Konzeption und Gestaltung von Räumlichkeiten für Krankenhäuser und andere Gesundheitsbauten und deren Wahrnehmung und Wirkung zur Bewältigung von Krankheit.

Design ist für Vieles Lösung und Hoffnungsträger zugleich. Design schöpft und schafft Werte. Design entwickelt lebenswerte Perspektiven und treibt Nachhaltigkeit voran. Die MCBW präsentiert in sechs Themenfeldern, wie Design dabei helfen kann, unsere Zukunft zu gestalten. Eines davon ist die Zukunft der Gesundheit.

futurice_MCBW_new-07_1920x640.jpg

DIGITALE LÖSUNGEN FÜR DAS GESUNDHEITSWESEN

Das Gesundheitswesen von morgen ist digital und vernetzt – E-Health ist das Schlagwort der Zukunft und in vielen Bereichen bereits gegenwärtig. Patienten nehmen Telemedizin wie Videosprechstunden zunehmend in Anspruch und nutzen aktiv Möglichkeiten der Digitalisierung. Daten sowie digitale und physische Interfaces treiben dies voran. Die Innovationsberatung Futurice stellt im Rahmen der MCBW in einer digitalen Podiumsdiskussion ein Connected Health Kit vor, das interdisziplinäre Teams zusammenzubringen kann. Damit können gemeinsam nutzerzentrierte digitale Lösungen entwickelt werden, die in der medizinischen Wirklichkeit Anwendung finden. Nach einem kurzen Intro wird in einem Panel aus Gesundheitsexperten diskutiert, wie das Kit komplexe Prozesse greifbarer machen kann.

UID_Keyvisual_01_1920x640.jpg

GAMIFICATION IN HEALTH: SPIELERISCHE MOTIVATION IM GESUNDHEITSWESEN

Die Klimakrise, ein neuer Alltag im Zuge der Pandemie und die digitale Transformation sind nur einige von vielen aktuellen Herausforderungen für Unternehmen und Gesellschaft. Wie kann Design dazu beitragen, diese zu meistern? Wie lässt sich der Wandel gestalten? Und wie können wir mögliche Zukunftsvisionen erfahrbar machen? In den Vorträgen von USER INTERFACE DESIGN im Rahmen der MCBW geht es darum, wie Zukunft gestaltet und greifbar gemacht werden kann. Dabei ist Gamification das Schlagwort im Bereich E-Health: In einem Online-Vortrag geht es um spielerische Motivation im Gesundheitswesen. Welchen Mehrwert bietet Gamification bei E-Health-Anwendungen und wie kann Gamification eingesetzt werden?

first_tuesday_1920x640.jpg

FIRST TUESDAY

Pflegebedürftige Menschen und Pflegende können oft nicht auf die besten Ideen aus Unternehmen, Start-ups und der Designwirtschaft zugreifen. Die Initiative first tuesday will eine Plattform zur besseren Vernetzung von Pflege, Start-ups und Design schaffen, damit Innovationen in den Bereichen Pflege und Altenhilfe nachhaltig verankert werden. Die aktuelle Corona-Situation hat gezeigt, dass wir bessere Lösungen für die vielen Probleme in der Pflege brauchen. In einem Workshop im Rahmen der MCBW entwickeln Experten der Pflege und Sozialwirtschaft aus einem kreativen Dialog mit Designern heraus Impulse, Produkte und Services für unterschiedliche Formate dieses komplexen Marktes.

Universal_Design_1920x640.jpg

UNIVERSAL DESIGN: HALTUNG, VERANTWORTUNG, NACHHALTIGKEIT

Universal Design verbindet wirtschaftliches Handeln mit sozialer Verantwortung und gesellschaftlicher Empathie und hat sich zum Knotenpunkt nachhaltiger und bewusster Gestaltung entwickelt. Das Institut für Universal Design (IUD) versteht darunter eine Metadisziplin des Designs und begleitet Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft bei der Entwicklung analoger sowie digitaler Produkte, Services und Konzepte. Die jährliche Universal Design Ausstellung während der MCBW ist der Gestaltungsrahmen für unterschiedliche Formate (Talk, Vortrag, Workshop) und gilt als interdisziplinäres Netzwerktreffen aller Universal Designer. In der Ausstellung werden Produkte, digitale Anwendungen, Architekturen oder Serviceszenarien gezeigt, die einer breiten, einfachen und intuitiven Nutzbarkeit sowie einer generationsübergreifenden Handhabung entsprechen. Anlässlich des zehnjährigen Jubiläums der MCBW veranstaltet das IUD zusätzlich eine „Exhibition in Exhibition“ mit dem Titel 10 Jahre Universal Design. Welche ausgezeichneten Universal Design Produkte haben ihre Aktualität nahezu unverändert erhalten? Welche Konzepte haben sich etabliert? Wie hat sich Universal Design in Unternehmen, Design Büros, Hochschulen oder Universitäten nachhaltig verankert? Die Ausstellungen sind aktuell als hybride Formate geplant.